By Admin – Monday 23rd October, 2017

When one hears of bodybuilding, the first thing that often comes to mind is big, bulky men. However, the dynamics have since changed with women matching the men in every step. So it was no surprise last Saturday (21st October) at the Kelton Thomas Bodybuilding Classic 2017 that Tobago saw its first ever female bodybuilder, Giselle Lanie Sergeant. Tobago Sport Hub decided to reach out to the soft spoken Giselle with 20 questions on her achievement.

20171021_233747

Photo: Tobago’s first female Bodybuilder Giselle Lanie Sergeant strikes a pose with her trophies at the Kelton Thomas Bodybuilding Classic 2017 held last Saturday 21st October  at the Bishop’s High School Auditorium.

 

1. What’s your full name?

GLS: Giselle Lanie Sergeant

2. Age?

GLS: 38

3. Where do you live?

GLS:  I grew up in Bagatelle but now residing in Signal Hill.

4. Was last night your first ever performance?

GLS: Yes! *smiles*

5. How would you say you did?

GLS: I was a bit nervous to start but I think I did pretty well against a veteran (Fiona Banker) in the sport. In the end, I only lost by two points because of the posing category which I had a little hiccup.

6. What were your expectations?

GLS: Really didn’t have any. Told myself I am going out there to have fun and build my self-confidence because I’m more of an introvert. I keep to myself.

7. How long did you train for last night (last Saturday)?

GLS: I had one month of training with Mr Kelton Thomas.

8. Do you have a personal coach? If yes, who?

GLS: No I don’t. I workout at home.

9. Was bodybuilding always a goal of yours?

GLS: No! Mr Thomas went to Marcelle’s Fitness Centre looking for persons to compete in his show and I was recommended by Richard Marcelle.

10. Why bodybuilding?

GLS: It’s not bodybuilding for me. It’s more like working out and sculpting my body to my liking.

11. Where and when did it all start for you? 

GLS: My love for fitness all started 7 years ago when I lost a baby due to stillbirth. I was home overweight and depressed. In an attempt to lose the weight I started working out. Soon, I no longer felt stressed as all my energies were channelled towards working out. Two years ago I started lifting heavier weights.
IMG-20171023-WA0013

Photo: Giselle shows off her amazing transformation.

12. How often do you train and where?

GLS: I workout 5 to 6 days a week for an hour at home.  I don’t focus on reps. I just go till I am satisfied or exhausted.

13. Are you a mother?

GLS: Yes! I am a proud mother of 3.

14. Is it a tough job joggling parenting, working and bodybuilding?

GLS: Not really. I get up at 4am and workout until 5am. And sometimes late at nights. I go to the gym every now and then. I have my own barbells and dumbbells at home.

15. Where do you want to go in bodybuilding?

GLS: I just want to continue sculpting my body. I am currently studying online to become a personal trainer.

16. Is there someone you look up to in the sport?

GLS: No. I am my own motivation.

17. What would you say is the secret to a good body?

GLS: Healthy eating and consistent exercise. It goes hand in hand. However, it doesn’t mean you can’t eat something considered unhealthy.

20171021_233913
Photo: Giselle is all smiles at the Kelton Thomas Bodybuilding Classic 2017. Kern Perry looks on.

18. What’s a daily meal like for you?

GLS: Fruits, vegetables, green tea (no sugar) and sweet potatoes. No sugary drinks. I drink lots of water and smoothies. Maybe some brown rice. I also have chicken either grilled or steamed. Fish is also an option.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photo: Slideshow of Giselle’s meal choices.

19. What advice would you give to other females wanting to get into bodybuilding? 

GLS: Forget the haters. I’ve been told I look like a man. Men without muscles should be called females then?! Why are women with a few muscles stigmatized? Society shouldn’t dictate how you want to look. Lifting doesn’t make you bulky. You can sculpt how you want to be sculpted.

20. What’s next for Giselle?

GLS: I am looking at the Juniors next year in June. It’s a competition for persons now getting into bodybuilding.

Leave a comment